GRAFFITI-Banksy in Los Angeles

Los Angeles-Grafitti and things at Downtown and Chinatown
Travelling through the Downtown area of Los Angeles and meandering through the business, fabric and the Theatre districts – I discovered that I have never felt such a bad vibe from a city ever – this place really un-nerved me!

Nothing particularly jumped out at me and I didn’t really take much notice of anything until I came across a car park with a huge white washed wall – but evenso I just wanted to keep on moving.

It was only when I turned around did I discover a great piece of street art hidden away.
Los Angeles-Grafitti and things at Downtown and Chinatown
Los Angeles-Grafitti and things at Downtown and Chinatown
Amongst all the cars parked in this ground level car park was a design which was made to look like the ‘ing’ portion of the ‘Parking’ sign had also been whitewashed to only leave the letters ‘Park’ complete with a girl swinging from the letter A. It was a really simple idea but really subtle in it’s execution.
Los Angeles-Grafitti and things at Downtown and Chinatown
Los Angeles-Grafitti and things at Downtown and Chinatown
It was only when I searched afterwards for possible Banksy locations in America that I discovered that I had stumbled across my very first Bansky piece of street art and I didn’t even know it!

It gave me quite a buzz to think that I had found this wonderfully subtle but huge statement amongst a grotty downtown part of Los Angeles. Below is an animated version of the piece of street art.

Credit: GraffitiKings

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. O TYPO a empurrar o baloiço da menina do Banksy | Correio do Porto - June 5, 2016

    […] MEMÓRIA descritiva: As palavras, muitas vezes, precisam de quem as ajude a reforçar o sentido da sua existência. É que de tão faladas e escritas parece que as pessoas se esquecem do seu verdadeiro sentido. Hoje o TYPO descobriu numa rua de Los Angeles, nos Estados Unidos da América, uma menina a brincar num baloiço preso à barra horizontal do A da palavra PARK. Graças ao artista Banksy a palavra PARK transfigurou-se no seu próprio significado. O significante (as letras P+A+R+K) identificou-se com o significado. Parabéns ao Banksy pelo trabalho e ao TYPO por o ter descoberto. No fim da caixa temos a legenda: O TYPO a empurrar o baloiço da menina do Banksy. da autoria de PML, inspirado no grafite em stencil daquele artista disponível aqui. […]

Leave a Reply

My Journey Far From Home

Travelling around Australia...

Love Grangetown, Shop Grangetown

Promoting local businesses and shops in Grangetown, Cardiff

Barbara Picci

Il blog di Barbara Picci

Soliciting Flavours

Musings (more like rambling thoughts) of a Cardiff based lawyer obsessed with food and wine

skroez cvk

Art, Graffiti & Street Art, The Rave scene, Psychedelia

oSiAn gRiFfOrD

ILLUSTRATOR

ProfPurvis

making some sense of media

STREETS AND ART AROUND THE WORLD

Partager mes découvertes street-art en temps réel

Croydon Street Art

Showcasing Street Art around Croydon

the 3 R's blog

30 Projects x 30 Weeks x 3 Principles

Jitterbug's Weblog

Adventures Locally and Around the World

Rhian Gregory

Sharing ideas, discussing topics, and life of a mum on wheels

Smithysnr

My life, my kids, my work, my everything!

Calling All Stations

Railways: Modelling, Discussing, Exploring

